Winter Wonderland

I like to dream, don’t you?  My most recent dream has been for a mild winter without snow.  I know, dream on right, considering I live in Southern Ontario?  Living in the snow belt, it is very unusual that we almost made it to New Years this year without snow, and I have been happier than a pig in s*@# as a result.  However, Mother Nature finally woke up, and this morning as I sit drafting this post I hear a rumble in the distance and looking out the window I see a winter wonderland and the plow approaching in the distance.  Within five minutes the end of my driveway will be totally plowed in!

To add to my dismay, I actually have to go to work today while my family (including my parents who are still visiting) get to stay home and relax.  YUCK!!  It’s not too bad though because I only have to work one day between Christmas and New Years.  We keep the office open this week but with only a skeleton staff (one or two people working per day).  Then I am off again until next Tuesday.  YAYYY!!

It’s still too dark out to take pictures this morning, so I am posting a photo of what my view will be like on the drive to work.  I took this shot a couple of years ago, and it is one of my favourite winter pics.  To me, the contrast between the dark clouds and the white snow just adds to the atmosphere, and I find this picture very relaxing.  I look at this scene and realize this is why I moved out of the city!

Snow covered fence

This entry was posted in Blogging, Landscapes, Photography, Rural Photography, Snow & Ice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Winter Wonderland

  1. David Hall says:

    That is my kind of Christmas weather.

  2. It is beautiful, but I just hate driving in it! 🙂

  3. Fresh snow is beautiful and your photo captures it perfectly. Stay warm!

  4. Thank you! Glad you liked it. 🙂

  5. dafarmer says:

    What I wouldn’t give to have a Christmas like that again! No snow in the the desert!

  6. It’s a beautiful scene, but I know what you mean about the snow. One of the things I like most about living in North Carolina is that we don’t get much snow. I grew up in Illinois and experienced enough snow and sub-zero weather to last a lifetime.

  7. StrangeLittleGirl Photography says:

    Beautiful! Great lighting

  8. what a lovely photo!
    Hope your having a lovely Christmas and New Years with your family!
    So snow here 😦 I can’t wait to get out and get some photos in it, but looks like i’ll just have to wait!

Leave a Reply

