Mom, where’s the car?

It constantly amazes me how different the weather can be from year to year, and I don’t know what all of you think, but our weather is becoming more and more bizarre as time goes by.  Global warming?  Yup, I think so!

I live in what is locally known as the “snow belt” of Southern Ontario, and we can get some pretty intense snowstorms during the winter months.  It is not unusual to have to stay put for a day or two because all of the highways are closed.   A couple of years ago my kids ended up with a total of 10 snow days where the buses were cancelled and sometimes even the schools closed, and they of course were ecstatic.  This year they are quite disappointed because it’s almost Christmas break and they have only had one weather related day off, and it was only because of icy sideroads.  It even looks like we may have a green Christmas, or close to it, because we have had very little snow so far, and most of it melted yesterday.

To give you an idea of what we sometimes have to deal with, here is a picture from just before Christmas last year.  My youngest son, Daniel, is sitting beside a huge mound of snow.  Believe it or not, that is my car!  Thank goodness I have two strapping boys who can shovel me out because a lot of times when their school buses are cancelled, I unfortunately still have to go to work. 😦

Snow covered car

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Photography, Snow & Ice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mom, where’s the car?

  1. Susie C. says:

    Ha! I grew up in Detroit, and I DO NOT miss shoveling out my car! Thanks for the reminder, though! 🙂 Dare I say it…cool photo!

  2. dafarmer says:

    Oh my gosh! When I livedin northern Japan we had weather like that! In Arizona it just rains and then motorists get trapped in flash floods because they don’t pay heed to the flash flood signs..

    • It’s funny you know. I always dream of living in a warmer climate, but I guess everyone has to deal with some type of extreme weather or other phenomena no matter where they live. I should be happy I don’t have to deal with earthquakes, hurricanes, or tsunamis!

  3. TBM says:

    Digging out my car was one of my least favorite chores in Colorado.

    • Yes, me too. It’s not quite as bad now that I have teenage boys to help, but it was really hard when they were babies/toddlers because my husband often left for work before the plow came by and left me with 3 or 4 feet of snow at the end of my driveway. I don’t mind shoveling, but I couldn’t very well leave the kids inside by themselves. I had some really nice neighbours though who would often take pity on me and blow the driveway!

  4. xandreverkes says:

    Oh my word….. this is C-R-A-Z-Y Cindy!!! 😀 To me it is unimaginably cool!!!! 🙂 **

    • Freezing is what it is!! LOL. You live in South Africa right? Have you lived there all your life? I would love to go there!! Maybe one day. I know you like to travel – have you ever seen snow?

      • xandreverkes says:

        Yes, I have lived in South Africa all my live (in Pretoria!)…. I have seen snow, but I don’t think it counts, because I didn’t see it fall & there was only bits here & there…. 😉 it was a long time ago though (I think about 1996??)… We don’t get snow here, only extreme heat!!!! – – – unfortunately!!! – – – When you get the chance (oneday), I think South Africa is worth a visit – – – a very diverse (in nature & climate) & beautiful country!!! 🙂 **

Leave a Reply

