Patterns and Symmetry

I find patterns very mesmerizing, so when I visited the Paleis Het Loo in Apeldoorn in the Netherlands, I went crazy with my camera because there were patterns everywhere.  Het Loo was built as a royal palace between 1684 and 1686 for stadtholder-king William III and Mary II of England.  After the death of Queen Wilhelmina in 1962, the palace was renovated and eventually became a state museum in 1984.  The Dutch Baroque architecture of Het Loo means that everything is symmetrical from the buildings to the impeccably manicured gardens behind the palace.

Walking down the tree-lined avenue to the front of the palace, we found ourselves facing the three-sided courtyard (cour d’honneur) where the main central block is flanked by symmetrical advancing secondary wings, one of which is shown in this photo.  It is certainly not a relaxing photo because there is so much to look at.  I find my eyes continually moving from side to side, taking in all the details, and the colours really make this photo “pop”.  I also love the angle on which the photo was taken because it draws the eye along the length of the building.  I hope I can visit there again one day because it’s one of those places where you can spend a whole afternoon and still not take everything in.

Paleis Het Loo

Ok, the hell with my one photo rule again.  You need to see how pattern oriented this palace is, so here’s a picture of part of the gardens as well as the back door.  Isn’t it beautiful?

Paleis Het Loo 2

 

Paleis Het Loo

This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging, Patterns, Photography, The Netherlands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Patterns and Symmetry

  1. kamielverwer says:

    Yes, in the Netherlands the saying “Even the queen goes to the Loo” is even more true than elsewhere. As a Dutch native, I appreciate your quest for patterns in the low lands. Did you visit Terschelling one of the Wadden islands, with its Brandaris lighthouse, or the land just outside of the dykes – they make great patterns too.

    • No, unfortunately we did not get to Terschelling; however, I am sure I would have loved it as I grew up sailing every summer and enjoyed all the different lighthouses we saw in our travels. I was in the Netherlands with my son’s high school as part of the 65th anniversary of VE Day in May, 2010, so we spent time in Groesbeek where we toured the National Liberation Museum and visited the Groesbeek Canadian War Cemetery. We also took part in the Liberation Day parade in Wageningen, and we spent a lovely day in Volendam. Amsterdam was an amazing experience too :). It is a beautiful country with the nicest people around, and there was so much I didn’t get to see. I would love to visit there again!!

  2. kerryl29 says:

    Excellent eye to spot the patterns.

    Now, a suggestion (which you should feel 100% free to ignore, of course): try filling the frame with some of the patterns that you see. Give it a shot, see what you think.

    • I would never ignore a suggestion – I welcome them! That’s part of the reason I started this blog, so I thank you for commenting. It’s funny you should suggest what you did because I actually have a couple of photos from that same day where I zoomed in on smaller sections of the windows with the red shutters. They look amazing, and I have actually started doing that a lot more. I have become sort of obsessed with patterns. I only wish that I had thought to zoom in on the pattern in the gold coloured door. That could have been very interesting. Thanks again for checking out my blog – I appreciate it!

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    The first photo is my favorite. I like the repeating red shutters and the windows.
    Greetings from http://northernprints.wordpress.com

  4. I felt the same way when I saw it. It just catches the eye!

Leave a Reply

