Vehicular Reclamation

I am finding more and more lately that I am inspired by other photography blogs. Not only do I post a photo every day myself, but I am also following other blogs on WordPress. Some are funny and make me smile, while others are just awe inspiring with the beauty of the photos and the skill of the writers. Often looking at someone else’s photo reminds me of a photo I took at some point in the past and gives me ideas for future blogs.

Recently, Northern Prints posted a photo called Green Roof, which shows grass growing on the roof of a garage with bright red doors.  It was so unique and such a great photo!!  Looking at it reminded me of back in the summer of 2010 when my husband and I spent the day in Toronto at the Royal Ontario Museum.  It was a beautiful day, so after we were done at the museum we decided to walk down to Kensington Market.  Kensington Market is a multicultural neighborhood of shops that spill out onto the sidewalks to form a sort of open-air market.  Even on the best days, driving along the narrow one-way streets is almost impossible, so the best way to visit this neighborhood is on foot. Some of the best local produce and meat shops and dry goods stores are found on these cramped little streets  At the southern end of Kensington Avenue, you can also find a number of trendy cafes and clothing stores.

We had a wonderful time walking up and down these little streets observing the eclectic shops and the variety of people.  In some respects it was as if time had stood still because it had the feel of a bohemian neighbourhood of the 1960’s or 70’s, and when I saw this car I just had to capture the memory with my camera.  The chances of seeing something like this again are probably pretty slim.  Isn’t it great?

Car growing trees

This entry was posted in Blogging, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Outdoor Markets, Photography, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vehicular Reclamation

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    That car is absolutely amazing! I am glad that you liked the photo of the Green Roof.
    from Judy at http://northernprints.wordpress.com

  2. David Hall says:

    Ah, the 60’s and 70’s, those were the days! Love the car. Kensington Market sounds like the perfect place to grab some great photos.

  3. munchow says:

    A really fun car, definitely bringing back thoughts of the 60’s and the 70’s. A good way to reclaim a car I believe. Fun shot!

  4. Thanks! It did really feel like we had walked back in time that day, and the car really took me by surprise and stopped me in my tracks. I love it!

Leave a Reply

