Lost in Time

On a recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina, I found myself taking hundreds of pictures of the different forms of architecture because it is such an old city and the buildings and houses are simply beautiful.  In fact, it is one of the most gorgeous cities I have ever seen! Walking down the old cobblestone alleyway of today’s photo, it was almost like being transported back in time, and I found myself wondering what life was like when these neighbourhoods were built.  One thing I know for sure is that cobblestones are very hard on the feet!!

Something else that I noticed is that these old alleyways provide a great opportunity for vanishing point photography.  The vanishing point occurs when two parallel lines appear to be converging in the distance, and I love the way this photo creates the impression of depth in a two dimensional medium.  I’m not quite sure how to put this into words, but there is something almost mysterious about photos like this because it feels as if you are looking into the unknown because you can’t really see what is at the end of the path.  It almost compels you to follow the lines to the vanishing point.  Of course, this isn’t a perfect vanishing point photo because the alleyway isn’t long enough to make the lines actually meet, but I still love it.

Charleston Alleyway

This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging, Charleston, SC, Photography, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost in Time

  1. El Guapo says:

    Even though the lines don’t meet, the way they frame the building at the end really gives it a sense of destination.
    As you said, it has a nice depth, even in 2 dimensions.

  2. Thank you. I appreciate you checking out my blog and commenting.

Leave a Reply

