A few shingles, and she’ll be as good as new!!

I have lived in the same small rural town for over 20 years, but I was born and raised a city girl.  So, when I moved north of the city I found at my disposal a whole treasure trove full of new types of things to photograph like old farmhouses, barns, wildlife, and wheat fields blowing in the wind.

The house in this picture stands just south of our town on the highway, but as you can see the roof is deteriorating and the whole thing looks like it’s ready to collapse.  When I look at it, I can’t help but wonder what this house looked like when it was first built and what was happening in the lives of the people who lived there.  Who knows, maybe it was one of the best houses in the area at the time and it was full of children and laugher.  Now the poor thing just looks lonely and forlorn.

You would be amazed how many people stop to take pictures of this little house.  Many times I drive by and there will be someone at the side of the road setting up a tripod or traipsing through the grass to get a closer shot.  I have stopped many times myself, but this time I took a professional photographer’s advice that the best pictures are taken in bad weather, and I took this picture in the rain while sitting in my car.  Before I always took pictures of it in nice weather, but I was always disappointed with the results because the harsh sunlight created too many reflections and shadows.

Everyone in the area has been commenting lately that the poor little house isn’t long for this world, so I guess the city folk driving up to cottage country are soon going to have to find something else unique to stop and take pictures of as they drive north.  All I can say is I will miss seeing it on my way home from work every day.  It’s like a landmark in this area, and I’ve always thought it had a special personality all its own.  How would you describe its personality?

Old house on highway

This entry was posted in Architecture, Photography, Rural Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few shingles, and she’ll be as good as new!!

  1. El Guapo says:

    Yup. Get those shingles on and nothing else to worry about.
    I’ve always wondered about houses like this. I bet most of the deterioration was gradual, but the roof collapse probably happened overnight..
    Beautiful pic.

    And Melancholy.

  2. Thanks! I will have to do a follow up picture when it finally gives up the ghost.

  3. Great shot. I think it would look good also in black and white – Have you flipped it into monochrome to see what it looks like? Perhaps take a few through the seasons and a few close up and from other angles.. It’s the perfect subject for a few more shots…

    • Thanks so much. I never thought of trying black and white, but that’s exactly why I decided to do this blog because I was hoping to get suggestions from other photographers as I am just an amateur wanting to learn. I will take some more shots after a good snowfall, that is if the weight of the snow doesn’t totally collapse it!

  4. Pingback: Ok, so it needs more than a few shingles! | photos from the loonybin

  5. Pingback: Indestructible or just plain stubborn? | photos from the loonybin

Leave a Reply

